top of page

Birth of a Bookshop!


So I have a bookshop! I have a bookshop that is one month old in fact. How time has flown.

Imagined Things (updated picture to follow) opened its doors for the first time on the 14th of July 2017. It's the first independent bookshop in Harrogate in nearly twenty years, and one of less than 900 in the entire UK.

I am delighted to have a bookshop, but things have been crazy! Needless to say in setting this up, my writing has taken somewhat of a backseat, and will do for the forseeable future. As have the writing of blog posts! There will be a little more time for writing soon I'm sure, but until then I urge you all to use your independent bookshops. The pressure has never been greater, the competition higher... but I believe bookshops matter. If we don't support them they will eventually be gone. What a sad day that would be. Then the gatekeepers of all of the stories will all be huge corporations... not a cause for celebration. Indeed if we want a local highstreet at all then supporting independent shops wherever and whenever you can is pararmount. If we don't use them we'll loose them, and honestly, we would deserve to. Let's hope that day never comes.

In the meantime I will be doing everything I can to get my independent bookshop established. Join the journey on www.imaginedthings.co.uk, or better yet come and visit, I'd be delighted to see you in the shop!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page