top of page

My First Book Signing

A week yesterday was the day of my first book signing!!

I'm not sure how many book signings have been held in a hairdressing salon, but mine was :D. It was at my Mum's shop, since so many of her wonderful customers made Futurespan being published possible, I wanted to thank them all.

It was a wonderful day - so good we forgot to take pictures while people were there - though there was a really good turnout! It was so lovely of everyone to come out and support me, and bring their books along to be signed. There was quite a wait at some points!

It was overhwhelming to be the centre of attention. I'm still getting used to the fact that I AM ACTUALLY AN AUTHOR?! So it was a strange but brilliant experience. We bought way too much food - better too much than too little! I signed 38 books!!!

It definitley made me feel much more like an author. I didn't sign a single book, despite having them for weeks, until the day before the official signing. I was worried about 'signing them wrong' (I'm not a perfectionist at all!!!). But I had been practising my author signature and had selected the perfect pen (Pentel Hybrid Gel Grip DX 1.0 in metallic blue for any other stationary geeks out there) - and it all went really well. I need to practice my talking and signing though as there was a few close calls!

I followed advice I've picked up from various websites etc. giving advice about booksignings:

  • Check whether people want it signed to them, as some people don't, then...

  • Ask the correct spelling of a name, even common names - Lynn vs. Lynne for example

  • Be organised - pen, spare paper (for names, when the pen doesn't work etc.), seats ready, numbering system ready if applicable (I used rafflen tickets)

  • Have an author signature (different form your legal one preferably - though your choice) and practice it

  • Decide on some phrases you can use when signing, such as 'Thank you so much for your support' etc. - so you don't have to talk, sign and think of what to write!

It was great to talk to people who have read the book, and hear what they thought. Lots of good comments, and a consensus about the turning point in the book - enter Jetson. And an excellent query about whether there was a handrail on the staircase from a lady who was concerned for the characters walking up all the stairs if there wasn't one - sorry to say there isn't a handrail in Futurespan!

I also picked my moment to give my Mum her award pictured above. She totally deserves it - since as it says in the Futurespan acknowledgements she was totally the driving force between me reaching my pre-order target and securing the publication of Futurespan. I'm glad she likes it!

So it was an excellent experience, I had a great time. I'm so grateful for everyone's support with the book and everyone that came last week. You made me feel so special :D And more like an author! And I'm thrilled that I can tick the first book signing box on list of author dreams :D

I would love to do a book signing in a book shop... so watch this space, hopefully soon! I will be doing a public book signing in May, to mark the official release of Futurespan - it will be in North Yorkshire, venue TBC. I hope to see some of you there!

It would be great to hear from anyone with any questions or comments about my book signing/book signings in general, or anyone who would just like to get in touch :D

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page